Tuesdays tip. Grab it while you can.

Grab it while you can.  Tomorrow it may be gone.Photo

I remember recently when I was photographing in Briancon, seeing a sheet of glass in a shop window that had been cracked.  It was still

in the window awaiting replacement and it looked like a huge crystal spiders web glinting in the light.  I stopped and pondered it for a while thinking I might be able to juxtapose it with something else, another element in the street to make a street photo but I decided to move on and come back later or tomorrow and make a picture with it.  Of course when I did come back it had been changed for a nice shiny clear pane of glass and that was my idea out the window if you’ll pardon the pun.

But it got me thinking about how many times I have made excuses not to photograph something because I thought I could come back another day, wanting the perfect conditions.  Also I have had occasions like above when what I was going to photograph had disappeared.  This is not the same as going out without a camera and seeing an amazing scene.  At least on those occasions you had not intended to photograph and you can content yourself in drinking in that magic moment and recording it on film in your own internal camera.

No, here you went out with a camera looking to photograph and you decided not to photograph because the scene was not perfect.  Maybe you already had a preconceived idea of the photograph that you wanted to take.  This, in my opinion is always a mistake because most of the time your preconception is an ideal one, and ideal conditions are  very rare.  So my tip today is take the photograph anyway.  You are there, o.k the lights not perfect but for all you know next time you return this way again it will have disappeared.  You can still revisit early in the dawn light or at sunset when the light might be better.  At least this way if you pass by in the future again and your scene has disappeared you have still got those photographs in your files.

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Tips and Technique, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tuesdays tip. Grab it while you can.

  1. Oli says:

    So true! It happend to me so many times, and I can’t believe it still does. Great tip. Just take the camera with you and take the picture. Simples.

  2. It’s happened to me, too. Good blog, Brian.

  3. Great advice, goes for many things in life…not just photography.

  4. S says:

    I drove by a slowly disintegrating shack about once a week for a year when I realized I should be taking a photo of it every time I passed by. The next time I passed it had crumbled to the ground.

  5. Happened to me too! Love this dramatic shot – makes the little dinghy look very vulnerable.

  6. dougstinson says:

    This is so true! I made a related observation at http://wp.me/p2zbMo-20.

  7. h0tchocolate says:

    True. I learn that great moment won’t happen twice :)

  8. stevomann says:

    Very true, I cannot count the times when I simply wish I had my camera with me, so many good chances missed, but hey we learn from our mistakes, cheers for the great tip.

Leave a Reply

