Outdoor Photography magazine.

I just got a copy of this months (september 2012) outdoor photography magazine and am delighted to see my article “10 steps to great street photographs” in print.  Nice too to see how my well my images look in the magazine!  Lots of other great stuff there too!

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Outdoor Photography magazine.

  1. Great article, congratulations!

  2. Yiannitsa Cegarra says:

    Congratulations! I’ll be getting a copy later on today. ;-)

  3. neely wang says:

    Great article, Brian, with lots of helpful tips! I just love street photography as you never know what you’ll get to capture! Congratulations!

  4. xpat92 says:

    Hi Brian,
    Congrats! I have just “skimmed” the surface of street photography. So, this is very welcome.
    Cheers.

  5. lynnmedia says:

    This was really nice! Congrats by the way :) Can I repost this? I will link to you..

  6. Pingback: Repost: Outdoor Photography magazine « lynnmedia

  7. Great job! Congratulations!

  8. Congrats on the article.

  9. MikeP says:

    Big congrats on the post… I am slowly working into some means of street pics. I am still a stealth shooter… long lens from across the street :-) Thanks for the tips, very helpful!!

  10. Diana says:

    Hi, nice article and informative blog. I found you through the WordPress Photo of the Week challenge. I have recently purchased my first DSLR and need all the tips I can find. Thanks. Great job.

  11. sandraconner says:

    Hello, Brian. I just discovered you today, via the weekly photo challenge. Your work is captivating — absolutely lovely in every sense. I am not a professional photographer. But I am a news reporter and a graphic designer for a publishing company, and those two jobs naturally require integration of photography into the mix. I love taking pictures, but do so mostly with my ever-faithful, been-through-the-mill digital. My dad was a professional photographer for many years, though, and I have always appreciated the exacting work and the real talent involved in taking great pictures. I am also a great fan of black and white. Thank you for sharing your article about street photography. I am looking forward to reading it and applying some of the advice in my news photos. Loved visiting here, and I’ll try to come back by often.
    Sandra

  12. Thanks for the tips! I’ve always thought for street photography it’s better to use a zoom lens since it allows more freedom (zoom instead of moving physically)… would love to try it out! =D

Leave a Reply

