Celebrate the Sky!!

There are lots of things that I am really excited about moving back to Ireland.  One of them is the weather… no really it is!  If you love black and white photography then blue skies are not really the most exciting thing you can think of when you think of landscape photography (or people photography for that matter, see last week’s Tuesday tip) because with a cloudy sky there is so much going on, so much to celebrate and I love to celebrate the sky, I really do!

As all you Irish people reading this know if there is you thing you can be guaranteed its cloudy skies, am I right or am I right?  I can prove it:

Cliffs of Moher, Co Clare.

I am hoping for some nice dramatic cloudy skies in September when we will be running the photo tour here and hope the sea is that calm when we catch the boat out to the Aran Islands too.  Now back to the packing!

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Holidays, The West of Ireland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Celebrate the Sky!!

  1. So lovely! Dramatic skies make interesting photos. Ireland at any time sounds wonderful to me. 8I look forward to reading more.

  2. Lois says:

    I come from the Fens where we have very big skies… so I love anything about the sky!!

  3. This is a beauty of a stunning spot (that I photographed in ’93). And BTW, living in Alberta means living in the land of soap opera skies!

  4. Sonali Dalal says:

    I have heard so much about beauty of Ireland ! I wish I can visit it one day. Looking forward to some dramatic clicks from you. Ofcourse,this is the first one in the series, I am sure.

  5. maybrick2001 says:

    The one thing I have noticed about Ireland in my few visits there is that the sky seems BIG. The fact that (in my experiance) it is perpetually cloud filled just adds to the photo oportunities.
    I love this shot btw:)

    • Hi James and thank you for your comment and your very kind compliment. I totally agree with you and I believe that “bad” weather is good weather for photography!

  6. dalzellphoto says:

    Beautiful photograph. Did you use any filters on your camera for this or is it just post processing for the look?

    • Hi Zach, I used a 10 stop ND filter to get the smoothness in the water and the sky judging whether the exposure was right by the histogram. It can sometimes take a few exposures to get it right so usually I shoot a sample with no filter then calculate what 10 stops difference will be, I add the filter then shoot. When I see the histogram and the “blinky” warning on the screen I know if I need to adjust my exposure time. I have used a little post processing to emphasis those lines in the cloudy sky (dodging and burning) as well as converting to black and white and a contrast adjustment.

      • dalzellphoto says:

        Thanks for explaining that 🙂 I have a 10 stop welders glass piece that I use and am hoping to find a water fall on my vacation to try it out. (We lack those in Illinois)

Leave a Reply

