Have a cool Yule!

Today I want to review some of the images posted here on the blog during the wonderful, exciting year that has been 2012.  I also want to share with you some of the images that may not have been posted here but are some of my favorites.  My reason for doing this is not just to show you my work but also it is for myself.  Sometimes, as a perfectionist, it is easy to get caught up in the striving, in the wanting to make that image, then when you  realise what you had wanted for so long, you have it in your possession  you forget to celebrate your success to yourself.  I have caught myself doing this several times and I think its vital to remind myself of my journey to date and of the road I have traveled since the beginning of the year.  No matter what stage you are at with your photography, no matter how good or not so good you feel about it I encourage you to take out your favorite photographic treasures be they big or small and feast your eyes on them and remember how good it felt do this and enjoy the felling of it often.  It is by doing this that you learn to create more magic moments like these.

Can I also say here that I have just opened a store on etsy.com where you can purchase my work.  At the moment the amount of prints for sale is a tiny proportion of my output but it will grow larger.  Also check out my revamped and rebuilt website I have reduced the amount of galleries and pages to make it all a little easier to navigate and I will be adding more images in the future too.

Finally I realise that of late I have been a little remiss in posting here.  Without going into all the reasons I can say that in the new year I will be posting with greater regularity on tips and techniques and also showing you more of my new and existing work.  I want to wish a very happy Christmas and a happy, prosperous new year to you all.  Thank you again for all the support, encouragement and kind comments that you have given to me over 2012, they have been much valued and appreciated.

BrianCooneyphotography-6049-Edit-2

BrianCooney-Photography-Languedoc6092-Edit-Edit Iceland_Photography_aurora-Briancooney (1 of 1) BrianCooney-2818-Edit wpid917-briancooney-Ireland-Photography-2321-Edit.jpguntitled-0075-Edit

Briancooneyphotography_Ireland-0421-Edit

Enniscrone-Summer-Ireland123 Oxford_street_Photography1 Dublin_Rain_street_photography (1 of 1)-2 briancooney-2003346 Street photography, Dublin, Ireland BriancooneyfilmBW300_(3)-Edit
untitled-0271-Edituntitled-2-Edit
wpid371-BrianCooney-4857-Edit.jpg untitled-3-21-Edit

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Have a cool Yule!

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year !
    And thanks for all photos and precious hints, very appreciated!
    Ciao

  2. Huffygirl says:

    Thanks Brian – these are all really amazing.
    I am looking to get into a digital SLR after using a digital point and shoot for quite awhile (though I’ve taken some pretty good photos with it). Do you have any suggestions for a good place to start? I take photos of family events and like to do a lot of landscapes, scenery and birds. I am trying out a Canon rebel T3i with a 18-135 mm lens, but am finding that it does not give me enough zoom, but I’m not ready to invest hundreds more for a zoom lens right now. Any suggestions?

    Thanks, and Merry Christmas to you. I’m looking forward to seeing your photos in 2013.
    Huffygirl

    • Hi Huffygirl, thank you! Well that is not an easy question to answer. Every single person will give you a different answer based on their own preferences but I’m not going to do that. The first question to answer for yourself is to decide how much you want to invest in a camera? You don’t have to buy the latest most expensive model either, cameras like the canon 5d mk1 are a few years old now and go for reasonable money and give great images. On the zoom lens, the older photographers will remember the days when zoom lens were not so readily available and will be familiar with the phrase use your zoom legs not your zoom lens….
      also full frame or crop sensor?
      Of course if you have a healthy budget to spend the canon 5d mk 3 is a sweet camera too!

      Hope that helps a little and have a great Christmas and new year too.

      Brian

  3. Tons of great photos here, Brian. Well done.

  4. MikeP says:

    All my best in the new year…. love the website and your posting of some not seen pics.

  5. GREAT BLOG , GOOD CONSUMER CONTENT , ONE CAN GET LOT OF THINGS FROM THIS ARTICLE, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

    stock photography

  6. ehpem says:

    What a great collection of photographs. Happy New Year, it will be nice to see more of you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

