Time for a change?

wpid1135-Briancooney-3248-Edit-Edit.jpg

Spring is finally in the air here on the west coast of Ireland.  Soon the clocks will go forward and in the words of Bob Dylan for the times they are a changing!  We can see the stretch in the evenings now as slowly but surely they get longer and longer until during the summer we hardly have more than a couple of hours darkness each day.  The bird song grows louder as activity in bird land busily reaches fever pitch.  Soon it will be loud enough to wake you before dawn but it is such a beautiful sound.  Oddly enough the wind that has lashed the land all winter long has stopped this morning,while I was out shooting there wasn’t a breath, nothing stirred although it is still cold.  The forecast says dry all week with some frost but its a blessing as the land is saturated and needs time to dry.

wpid1133-briancooney-1001051.jpg

Around now I begin to get excited about the coming year and the workshops scheduled.  Already I am planning a trip out to the Aran Islands in March for a couple of days.  Myself and my wife spent a couple of days out there last July in the middle of a sudden and unexpected heat wave.  I remember buying what turned out to be the last bottle of sun cream in the small shop on Inis Mór.  For the next few days we shared it with lobster   red-roasted tourists who roved all over looking for a bottle to no avail.  Of course schools were out so the kids were having a ball diving into the turquoise water from the pier.  In Ireland we LOVE to talk about the weather and of course it was the main topic of conversation in our bed and breakfast!

wpid1137-Briancooney-3309-Edit.jpg

It is such a beautiful landscape, truly unique.  From the ancient ring fort of Dún Aonghasa on Inis Mór, over a thousand years old, to the wreck of the Plassey on Inis Oir there are many sites to take in.  The miles and miles of hand-built walls are a wonder to behold when you start to think about how much work is involved in them, it must have been back-breaking.  Last year when I took a group of photographers out there they were left entranced and enthralled by the friendly laid back attitude of the people and the excellent food—the best fresh seafood you can imagine!  Then there is the banter and the craic with the locals.  It is such a pleasure too to be traveling on foot, the only cars on the Island are belonged to the Islanders themselves so no driving and best of all; little or no traffic.  We walked everywhere and you know what?  It was wonderful!    Especially at night walking home beneath a star filled sky after a traditional music session and a couple of pints of creamy Guinness:)

You can book your place on the next trip or take a look at the other photography workshops I am running this year here! 

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time for a change?

  1. patriciamoed says:

    Gorgeous shots! It’s wonderful that you are at the cusp of spring. Here were are still in the thick of winter!

  2. Huffygirl says:

    Beautiful. I’d love to get back to Ireland some day, but there are so many places we want to go!

  3. Some beauties here, Brian. Graduated density filter on the sky in the top photo?

Leave a Reply

