Your feedback on Portfolio 1

20140729-065838.jpg
I have received a huge response to my request for feedback on what the portfolio selections so far might mean to you.  The following reactions are from people on my blogs, Flickr on email and on social media to the first version.  Tomorrow I will be sharing the final selection.  Thank you to everybody who responded, as you can see the reaction was very diverse.

“Isolation, Self imposed. Sad.”

“Hi brian – I see alot of images are shot through windows – and an impression of holiday memories in Ireland are coming through – perspectives of a passenger in a car- making images of scenes in the moments of travel”

“Destination anywhere! More than likely damp if it’s going to be Ireland”

“Lee Friedlander visits Ireland”

“Disconnect”. So much focus on the foreground/barriers, makes me think what’s beyond it is not what’s important.”

“One initial thought on your landscape set: “landscape” is tied up in my mind with ideas of “outdoors”; here you/the viewer are inside (a car, a holiday cottage, a caravan) for most of the pictures (there are only two as far as I can see where it’s possible you’re “outside” when taking them); this makes me think of “views from” rather than landscapes ie a mediated view rather than THE VIEW; and also the climate-related British practice of driving to the coast and looking out at the sea until the tea in your thermos has misted up the inside of the rain-spattered windscreen of the car…”

“I watched the film Fracture the other day, and I was attracted to the name and its meaning and its supposed link to the film. Now looking back at your set this BoW links to my feeling of Fracture, as I said on Flickr, the meaning of not really being there/connected (foot on the ground), not really separated from nature but finding a way to dislocate from it – car. You understood time-travel and that’s a feeling I too get from looking at it, as if swiftly dragged from one place to the other…I appreciate the video/slide as I’m not required to click to view the next image so can seat back and enjoy it. Not so sure about the light grey background, I think white works best – but that’s a personal taste – for both B&W and colour.Hope this helps. Looking forward to the next instalment. :-)”

“I like the general documentary feel but it is not consistent. There are a couple where “composition ” is rather too “self-conscious” for me. Also I am not convinced by the sequence, there seems to be a lost opportunity here, where is the strong initial image to draw us in”?

“To me it’s about several things. How a car can get you places but uses up natural resources. You can think you’ve been to a place just by going through it in a car or sitting there and looking at the view. Seeing the world through a glass screen instead of getting out there and feeling the breeze in your hair and the sun or rain on your face.”

 

“Hi Brian
 I think it works fine as a series. It makes me think of the transition from the old country to the new; how Ireland becomes America, ‘Thousands are Sailing’.
 The big skies and highways are foretold but the car is stymied from escaping by the water hedging it in and even signs slowing it down as it looks for a way that’s not eventually barred.”

So each viewer had a completely personal response to the piece.  No two reactions were exactly the same.  Thanks again everybody!

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Your feedback on Portfolio 1

  1. I love this picture, the peace which transmit. Have you think to participate in Cork Photo Festival?http://corkphoto.com/events/source-photographic-magazine-saturday-july-4th/

Leave a Reply

